The Paget's Association Centres of Excellence 

Applications for the second round of awards have now closed.
Further invitations will be issued by the Trustees in due course.

In November 2015, ten UK centres were recognised as Centres of Excellence by the Paget’s Association. The initial ten award winning centres and their directors are:

  • Cardiff: Dr Mike Stone at the University Hospital Llandough and Cardiff Royal Infirmary
  • Edinburgh: Professor Stuart Ralston at the Western General Hospital and University of Edinburgh
  • Manchester: Professor Peter Selby at Manchester Royal Infirmary
  • Middlesbrough: Dr Stephen Tuck at James Cook University Hospital
  • Newcastle Upon Tyne: Dr Terry Aspray at the Freeman Hospital
  • Norwich: Professor Bill Fraser at the Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital and the University of East Anglia
  • Nottingham: Dr Peter Prinsloo at Nottingham City Hospital, in collaboration with Dr Rob Layfield’s research programme at the University of Nottingham
  • Salford: Professor Terry O’Neill at Salford Royal NHS Foundation Trust
  • Sheffield: Dr Nicky Peel at the Metabolic Bone Centre, Northern General Hospital
  • Stanmore: Dr Richard Keen at the Metabolic Bone Unit, Royal National Orthopaedic Hospital

The Trustees wish to use this initiative to raise the profile and awareness of Paget’s Disease and to ensure optimal management of patients and provision of services to patients and their carers.  They also wish to continue to meet the mission of the charity by encouraging education and research in Paget’s Disease.

The Trustees expect productive interactions between the Paget’s Association charity and the Centres of Excellence, for example in fundraising and hosting meetings for members/patients.  The Trustees hope that the award of Centre status will provide applicants with a “badge” of local and national recognition that will facilitate their negotiation with health care providers to offer best standards of care to patients.

Professional queries about applications should be emailed to [email protected]